Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 17th, 2009

Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

So, believe it or not, it only got COLD recently here in Moscow region. I mean, it hasn’t been warm, but it hasn’t been that expected frozen-to-the-core-of-your-soul cold.

It is now.

The high on Monday was -14F. Yeah.

So what do we do when it’s chilly? Eat chili! Duh.

It all started with my little Aussie friend, who whipped up a big pot for us last weekend… and served it up with some really good multi-grain bread and this crazy garlic-cheese concoction that must be so bad for you because it tastes so good.

said garlic-cheese stuff is behind the bread, whoops!

Once I got home, I cooked up my own pot of chili! My first! Can you believe that I’d never made it before? I made it pretty simple since there are no fancy-pants ingredients around these parts, just carrots, garlic, onions, tomatoes, tomato puree, beans (red and white), and a chunk of ground beef. And a whole ton of “spice mix” in 3 different varieties (one for pasta, one with peppers, and an “all-purpose” mix. I figured that covered the bases).

I realized that I do not own a can opener, and when the pop-top of my tomato puree snapped off, I thought I was doomed! And then, a bolt of inspiration struck, and I hammered my way through the lid!! I splattered tomato everywhere, but at least I got the can open 🙂 And the end result was lovely.

served with a dollop of sour cream

Thank the sweet lord almighty that it tasted good, because I made a lot. I couldn’t really post much last week, because the only thing I was eating was chili….

And my Russian-Italian fusion meal. I’m not sure what inspired this meal, but I set my mind on making it! With my bit of

extra ground beef, I made a few meatballs. I used them to top “cabbage pasta” that I made by finely chopping some cabbage, carrot, pepper, and onion into small slivers. It kind of reminded me of the zucchini pasta rage… Well, I sauteed the veggies in a pan with a little bit of EVOO, and more of those various spice mixes. I also added a bunch of basil and crushed red pepper. Once all the veggies were cooked and softened, I just plopped the balls on top! Presto! Prosto! (“Easy!”)

And quite tasty. I make a mean meatball, if I do say so myself… 🙂

Hearty meals feel so good in the winter! So do warm drinks. And since it looked like this outside…

Pushkin Square last week

…we settled down with some of this inside.

Caro and I braved some pretty nasty weather! But this girl is prepared. Look at her! Just like a real Russkii…

(with apologies to those who hate the use of fur)

Other ways to stay warm? Piping hot oatmeal, for one!

Strawberry and apple oatmeal, topped with crunchy peanut butter. So. Good. Like PBJ deconstructed, I say! I was on a serious strawberry-oats kick. But what can beat pink oatmeal??!?

with a side of Soviet architecture

Definitely not “Flippys” (“Flippies”?). Can you even tell what these are? Huh? Can you?

That would be dolphin-shaped cereal. Mmhmm. Yup. And no matter how sweetly Caro smiles, they’re just not gonna do it for me. Too sweet, too airy.

I can’t wait to be home (3 days!!!!) and eat some real cereal. None of this Flippys nonsense….
What is your favorite cereal?? For breakfast, I love me some raisin bran-type cereal; for snackage, Cinnamon Life all the way.

How do you keep cozy and warm in the winter? Two words: Hot Chocolate. Four words: Hot Chocolate and blanket. Nothing cozier. Love it!

Is your holiday shopping done? Almost. I have a couple more things to tick off my list, but I am pretty darn close!

Read Full Post »